Child Protection Curriculum

Screen Shot 2015-01-27 at 8.52.04 pmThe Child Protection Curriculum teaches all children from a young age, in an age appropriate way, to:

• recognise abuse and tell a trusted adult about it
• understand what is appropriate and inappropriate touching
• understand ways of keeping themselves safe.

There are 4 focus areas we work on one focus area each term beginning with

The right to be Safe

  1. Feelings
  2. Being safe
  3. Warning signs
  4. Risk-taking and emergencies


  1. Trust and networks
  2. Rights and responsibilities
  3. Use and abuse of power

Recognising and reporting Abuse

  1. Names of parts of the body, privacy and touching  (When talking to the children we always use correct anatomical names so if your comes home and tells you the teacher said penis they are probably right!)
  2. Recognising abusive situations and secrets

Protective Strategies

1 Practising protective strategies

2 Persistence

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *